Leave a comment

Jury Duty: Where Are They Now?

Where Are They Now?

 

Loretta Boyd

  On October 27, Loretta Boyd attempted to bite into an apple, resulting in the loss of yet another tooth. Undeterred by having only one tooth left, Mrs. Boyd made apple sauce.

Jacoby Boyd

   Jacoby Boyd has finally fulfilled her dream by moving to the Wicklow Mountains of Ireland. As a result, she stopped crying.

Guardanino is still wearing a pinky ring.

And finally…

On November 15, I called up the Kings County District Attorney’s Office to find out what the sentencing of Terrence Boyd was. They put me directly through to ADA Walsh, which I didn’t expect to happen, but I was glad that it did. He told me that Boyd was sentenced to 25 to life. This was another thing that I had not expected, since that was going to be the sentence if the jury had found him guilty of murder. Walsh explained to me that the sentence was strict due to Boyd’s five previous felonies, two of which were violent. As a result of those felonies, Walsh believes that when Boyd goes in front of the parole board twenty-three years from now, he’ll be denied. He’s probably right. In The Shawshank Redemption, there’s that scene towards the end of the film when the parole board asks Morgan Freeman’s character whether or not he’s reformed. Freeman gives an eloquent speech as to how the word “reformed” is a word made up by politicians, a word that could never apply to him, because he’ll always be sorry for what he’s done. As for Terrence Boyd, it’s pretty safe to say that he’ll never be capable of delivering an eloquent speech, even with twenty-three years of practice.

I was glad that I got to talk to ADA Walsh, because I wanted to tell him that he did a good job in trying the case, and that despite the stupidity of some of my fellow jurors, I found Boyd to be guilty of murder. “I appreciate that,” he said. But instead of being so serious, I should have told him my theory that Deron Powell was shot by a cup of tea. Talk about a wasted opportunity! Walsh seems like he’s a really nice guy. He didn’t just give me an answer about Boyd’s sentence. He talked to me for at least five minutes, wanting to know how I felt about serving on the jury. I didn’t want to sound like a freak by telling him the truth, which was that this trial was one of the best things that ever happened to me. Instead, I simply told him that I thought that the trial was very interesting and that I enjoyed doing it. What a nice guy though! In fact, I’m thinking about printing out all of these Jury Duty essays and mailing them to him. The only thing that I’ll omit are the lines that read:

 

                  The next person to testify was the District Attorney. Her and ADA Walsh

                  seemed really smitten, and everyone on the jury agreed that they’re

                  probably fucking.

 

And since I’m in the mood to share (it is, after all, Christmas time) I’ll also send a copy of the essays to Terrence Boyd in prison.

 

Dear T,

         You might have lost your freedom, but you have gained a pen pal for life…

 

 

 

November 16, 2006

Leave a Reply

